exocad

Exocad DentalCAD is the software platform for digital, dental restorations from the software company exocad, founded in 2010 (as a spin-off of the Frauenhofer Institute). Exocad is headquartered in Germany and has additional locations in Luxembourg, UK, North America and Asia. 

The exocad claim “Your freedom is our passion” reveals a lot of the software company's philosophy, because in contrast to the 3Shape brand - which offers scanners and software in a package - exocad only supplies the software, not the dental scanner. Thus, the user is free to choose his partner, not only in terms of production, but also with which company he would like to work in the field of scanner hardware.

Exocad does not offer direct sales. Sales are carried out by so-called partners who integrate the “DentalCAD” software into their systems and later also provide support.

Like 3Shape , exocad provides an open system that works with an STL output that many manufacturing service providers, including us at CADdent®, can implement in the CAM process. 
 

exocad software prices

The software house exocad offers different price and license models for the different requirements of dental laboratories.

Flex license

With the flex license of the exocad software, dental laboratories are particularly flexible. Users of the exocad flex license receive regular updates, which are included in the license fee, and can easily activate and deactivate software add-ons.

Permanent license

The permanent license is generally valid for an unlimited period and never expires. Unless the software is no longer compatible with the operating system - the license itself does not expire, but under these circumstances there is still the possibility that the licensed software version no longer works without an upgrade.

To avoid this, exocad offers the option of booking an upgrade contract for a permanent license. With the upgrade contract, laboratories regularly receive new updates. The upgrade contract can be terminated at any time without additional costs. The exocad software will then continue to be used as of the date of termination. An update of the add-on modules is no longer possible after the termination and the support from the reseller is also omitted at this point.

If dental laboratories decide to update the software again at a later point in time, exocad now offers a refresh program. This means that laboratories do not pay fees for all missed updates, as they did in the past, but a fixed fee, which is calculated based on the booked modules, as well as the annual fee for an upgrade contract. The refresh fee does not apply within a grace period of 90 days.

exocad DentalCAD software modules

Numerous indications can be served without an additional module. The exocad DentalCAD standard version contains anatomical crowns, anatomical/simple copings, attachments, bridge frameworks, inlays/ onlays, veneers and telescopic crowns . In this, dental technicians also have the opportunity to work with wax-ups. Many other indications can then be covered using additional modules as required.
 
Exocad DentalCAD offers here

  • Implant Module for customized abutments  and screw-retained restorations

  • Bar Module for simple and complex bars

  • Model Creator for making physical models

  • Bite Splint Module for therapeutic occlusal splints

  • Provisional Module for temporary crowns and bridges

  • PartialCAD for partial denture frameworks

  • Full Denture Module for full dentures

  • TruSmile technology for a realistic representation of the tooth restorations

  • Virtual articulator for dynamic occlusion

  • Jaw Motion Import to import measurement data of the jaw movement

  • DICOM Viewer to visualize voxel data from CT machines

  • Smile Creator in order to be able to reliably assess the feasibility in the planning phase

  • Tooth library to use an extensive library of beautiful, natural teeth

exocad software training courses

Exocad itself does not offer any training courses. On its website, the software house refers to certified exocad software trainers, sales partners, non-certified providers and platforms. 

OUR CONCLUSION

The exocad software offers a lot of flexibility for dental laboratories, which are always dependent on a sales partner when it comes to support questions, training and courses. At first glance, the license models seem confusing and unpredictable. Ultimately, it is a matter of taste and attitude who gets along better with which software. Every system has advantages and disadvantages that have to be weighed up individually. Are you unsure and would like to speak to an expert about it? Talk to us, our experts will be happy to advise you - at eye level!

exocad

Exocad DentalCAD ist die Software Plattform für digitale, dentale Restaurationen des in 2010 (als Spin-Off des Frauenhofer-Instituts) gegründeten Softwarehauses exocad. Exocad hat seinen Hauptsitz in Deutschland und weitere Standorte in Luxemburg, UK, Nordamerika und Asien. 

Der exocad Claim „Your freedom is our passion” gibt schon einiges der Philosophie des Softwarehauses preis, denn im Gegensatz zur Marke 3Shape – von welcher Scanner und Software im Paket angeboten werden – liefert exocad ausschließlich die Software, nicht den Dentalscanner. Somit ist der Nutzer frei in der Wahl seiner Partner, nicht nur was die Fertigung betrifft, sondern auch mit welchem Unternehmen er im Bereich der Scanner-Hardware zusammenarbeiten möchte.

Exocad bietet keinen Direktvertrieb. Der Vertrieb läuft über sogenannte Partner, die die Software „DentalCAD“ in ihre Systeme integrieren und später auch den Support leisten.

Wie auch 3Shape liefert exocad ein offenes System, das mit einer stl.-Ausgabe arbeitet, die viele Fertigungsdienstleister und auch wir bei CADdent®, im CAM-Verfahren umsetzen können. 
 

exocad Software Preise

Das Softwarehaus exocad bietet verschiedene Preis- und Lizenzmodelle für die unterschiedlichen Anforderungen von Dentallaboren.

Flex-Lizenz

Mit der Flex-Lizenz der exocad Sofware sind Dentallabore besonders flexibel. Nutzer der exocad Flex-Lizenz erhalten regelmäßige Updates, die in der Lizenzgebühr inbegriffen sind und können Software Add-ons unkompliziert aktivieren und deaktivieren.

Dauer-Lizenz

Die Dauer-Lizenz ist grundsätzlich unbefristet gültig und erlischt nie. Es sei denn, die Software ist mit dem Betriebssystem nicht mehr kompatibel - die Lizenz an sich erlischt dann zwar nicht, dennoch besteht unter diesen Umständen die Möglichkeit, dass die lizensierte Software Version nicht mehr ohne ein Uprgrade funktioniert.

Um dies zu vermeiden bietet exocad die Option einen Upgrade-Vertrag zur Dauer-Lizenz dazu zu buchen. Mit dem Upgrade-Vertrag erhalten Labore regelmäßig neue Updates. Der Upgrade-Vertrag kann jederzeit ohne zusätzliche Kosten gekündigt werden. Die exocad Software wird dann mit Stand des Kündigungszeitpunkts weiter genutzt. Eine Aktualisierung der Add-on Module ist nach der Kündigung nicht mehr möglich und auch der Support durch den Reseller entfällt an dieser Stelle.
 

Wenn sich Dentallabore zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt dazu entscheiden die Software doch wieder zu aktualisieren, bietet exocad inzwischen ein Refresh-Programm. Das bedeutet Labore entrichten nicht wie früher Gebühren für alle verpassten Updates, sondern eine fixe Gebühr, die sich anhand der gebuchten Module berechnet, sowie den Jahresbeitrag für einen Upgrade-Vertrag. Innerhalb einer Kulanzzeit von 90 Tagen entfällt die Refresh-Gebühr.

exocad DentalCAD Softwaremodule

Bereits ohne ein Zusatzmodul können zahlreiche Indikationen bedient werden. Anatomische Kronen, anatomische/einfache Käppchen, Geschiebe, Brückengerüste, Inlays/Onlays, Veneers und Teleskopkronen enthält die exocad DentalCAD Standardversion. In dieser haben Zahntechniker außerdem die Möglichkeit mit Waxups zu arbeiten. Viele weitere Indikationen können je nach Bedarf dann über Zusatzmodule abgedeckt werden. 

Exocad DentalCAD bietet hier

  • Implant Module für individuelle Abutments und direktverschraubte Restaurationen

  • Bar Module für einfache und komplexe Stege

  • Model Creator für die Herstellung von physischen Modellen

  • Bite Splint Module für therapeutische Aufbissschienen

  • Provisional Module für provisorische Kronen und Brücken

  • PartialCAD für Teilprothesen-Gerüste

  • Full Denture Module für Totalprothesen

  • TruSmile-Technologie für eine realistische Darstellung der Zahnrestaurationen

  • Virtueller Artikulator für eine dynamische Okklusion

  • Jaw Motion Import um Messdaten der Kieferbewegung zu importieren

  • DICOM Viewer um Voxeldaten von CT-Geräten zu visualisieren

  • Smile Creator um die Machbarkeit schon in der Planungsphase zuverlässig beurteilen zu können

  • Zahnbibliothek um eine umfangreiche Bibliothek schöner, natürliche Zähne nutzen zu können

exocad Software Schulungen und Trainings

Exocad selbst bietet keine Schulungen und Trainings an. Auf seiner Website verweist das Softwarehaus auf zertifizierte exocad Software Trainer, Vertriebspartner, nicht-zertifizierte Anbieter und Plattformen. Transparenz und Austausch ist uns besonders wichtig, darum bieten auch wir Schulungen für exocad an. Alle unsere Trainings finden Sie auf unserer Website unter Workshops. Nicht das richtige dabei? Rufen Sie uns einfach an – wir beraten Sie gerne!

UNSER FAZIT

Die exocad Software bietet viel Flexibilität für Dentallabore, die aber immer auf einen Vertriebspartner angewiesen sind, wenn es um Supportfragen, Trainings und Schulungen geht. Die Lizenzmodelle wirken auf den ersten Blick unübersichtlich und nicht planbar. Letztendlich ist es Geschmacks- und Einstellungssache wer mit welcher Software besser zurecht kommt. Jedes System hat Vor- und Nachteile, die es individuell abzuwägen gilt. Sie sind unsicher und möchten gerne mit einem Experten darüber sprechen? Sprechen Sie uns an, unsere Experten beraten Sie gerne – auf Augenhöhe!