3Shape

3Shape is a Danish manufacturer of scanners and software that operates worldwide and has made it its business to create time and space in the dental industry through its developments. Due to its strong brand communication and the self-contained system compatibility, one often speaks of the “Apple” among dental scanners. 

In Germany, 3Shape is represented by 3Shape Germany GmbH - based in Düsseldorf - which is responsible for sales and the academy for the DACH region.
 

3Shape

3Shape the "Apple" among dental scanners

3Shape is basically an open system. STL files are created from construction data. Laboratories are thus free to choose their partners and suppliers. The compatibility and operation between 3Shape's own products - such as the TRIOS intraoral scanner and the 3Shape design software - is more user-friendly than using the design software in combination with third-party products. While other software houses (such as Exocad) only sell the software, 3Shape also supplies the associated desktop scanner with the software. 

3Shape software packages and modules

3Shape offers two different software packages. The LabCare Package and the Basic Package. With the LabCare package, laboratories benefit from free support and training, as well as regular software upgrades. With the basic version, on the other hand, support is chargeable. There are no software upgrades here, the purchase version remains permanent.

Software modules

  • Dental System (crowns & bridges, tertiary frameworks, etc.)

  • Splint Studio

  • Clear Aligner Studio

  • Ortho System

  • Implant Studio/ Abutment Designer

3Shape scanner offer

 

D2000      

E4 

E3      

E2    

E1 

Camera  

4 x 5 MP 4 x 5 MP 2 x 5 MP 2 x 5 MP 2 x 5 MP

Precision (ISO 12836)

5 μm 4 μm 7 μm 10 μm 10 μm

Scan duration (full jaw)   

16 Sec. 9 Sec. 18 Sec. 24 Sec. 32 Sec.

Scan duration (full jaw impression)     

65 Sec. 45 Sec. 64 Sec. 72 Sec. 104 Sec.

 Texture

Colour Colour Colour B/W n / a
Scan strategy

Die scanning on the model           
and all-in-one scanning       

Die in the model   Standard    Standard    Standard   

Advantages of 3Shape scanners

  • With the help of an articulator holder, articulators can be inserted into the e-scanner in order to scan the bite directly. 

  • The scanning process starts immediately as soon as the model has been inserted into the scanner. 

  • High scanning speed and thus higher productivity.

  • With the all-in-one scanning function of the D2000, two models can be scanned at the same time, so that the upper and lower jaw, all inserted stumps and occlusion information can be recorded with one scan.

3Shape further and advanced training

3Shape offers the "Online learning hub" for further education and training and the constant expansion of knowledge. Numerous case studies and blog posts can be found on this platform. In addition to on-demand webinars, virtual classes in small groups of up to 6 people and individual training courses, 3Shape also offers free training videos on its own YouTube channel. There is also the option of attending classroom courses with a maximum of 10 participants in 3Shape's own rooms. 

OUR CONCLUSION

Vorteile von 3Shape:

3Shape impresses with its intuitive and simple user interface and, depending on the model, a very precise and detailed scan. Compared to other systems, the 3Shape system is very intuitive to use and therefore particularly user-friendly.

Disadvantages of 3Shape:

Compared to other systems, 3Shape is very rigid and leaves little room for creativity and “out of the box” approaches. In addition, 3Shape support is very difficult to reach, so many users are looking for solutions with the help of their manufacturing service providers.

There is no right or wrong with scanners and software. Especially in this area, it is particularly important to pay attention to your own preferences and requirements in the laboratory. In our opinion, the 3Shape system is well suited for CAD / CAM beginners. Technicians who prefer to remain flexible, like to try things out or work out their own solutions, are better off with a system that is not so self-contained.

3Shape

3Shape ist ein weltweit agierender, dänischer Scanner- und Softwarehersteller, der es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht hat durch seine Entwicklungen Zeit und Freiraum in der Dentalbranche zu schaffen. Aufgrund seiner starken Markenkommunikation und der in sich geschlossenen Systemkompatibilität wird oft auch vom „Apple“ unter den Dentalscannern gesprochen. 

In Deutschland wird 3Shape durch die 3Shape Germany GmbH – mit Sitz in Düsseldorf – vertreten, die den Vertrieb und die Academy für den DACH-Raum übernimmt.
 

3Shape

3Shape der „Apple“ unter den Dentalscannern

Grundsätzlich ist 3Shape ein offenes System. Es werden stl-Dateien aus Konstruktionsdaten erstellt. Labore sind damit frei in der Wahl ihrer Partner und Zulieferer. Die Kompatibilität und Bedienung zwischen 3Shape-eigenen Produkten – wie beispielsweise dem Intraoralscanner TRIOS und der 3Shape Konstruktionssoftware – ist nutzerfreundlicher als die Verwendung der Konstruktionssoftware in Kombination mit Drittanbieterprodukten. Während andere Softwarehäuser (wie z.B. Exocad) ausschließlich die Software vertreiben, liefert 3Shape zur Software auch den dazugehörigen Desktop Scanner mit. 

3Shape Software Pakete und Module

3Shape bietet zwei verschiedene Softwarepakete an. Das LabCare Paket und das Basic Paket. Beim LabCare Paket profitieren Labore von kostenlosem Support und Schulungen, sowie regelmäßigen Software Upgrades. Bei der Basic Version dagegen ist der Support kostenpflichtig. Software Upgrades gibt es hier nicht, die Kaufversion bleibt dauerhaft bestehen.

Softwaremodule

  • Dental System (Kronen- & Brücken, Tertiärgerüste, uvm.)

  • Splint Studio

  • Clear Aligner Studio

  • Ortho System

  • Implant Studio/ Abutment Designer

3Shape Scannerangebot

 

D2000      

E4 

E3      

E2    

E1 

Kamera   

4 x 5 MP 4 x 5 MP 2 x 5 MP 2 x 5 MP 2 x 5 MP

Präzision (ISO 12836) 

5 μm 4 μm 7 μm 10 μm 10 μm

Scandauer (Vollkiefer)     

16 Sek. 9 Sek. 18 Sek. 24 Sek. 32 Sek.

Scandauer

(Vollkieferabdruck) 

65 Sek. 45 Sek. 64 Sek. 72 Sek. 104 Sek.

Textur

Farbe Farbe Farbe S/W k.A.

Scanstrategie

Stumpfscannen amModell        
und All-In-One-Scannen       

Stumpf im Modell    Standard    Standard    Standard   

Vorteile von 3Shape Scannern

  • Mithilfe eines Artikulatorhalters können Artikulatoren in den E-Scanner eingesetzt werden, um den Biss direkt zu scannen. 

  • Der Scanvorgang wird direkt gestartet, sobald das Modell in den Scanner eingesetzt wurde. 

  • Hohe Scangeschwindigkeit und damit höhere Produktivität.

  • Mit der All-In-One-Scannen Funktion des D2000 können gleichzeitig zwei Modelle gescannt werden, sodass mit einem Scan Ober- und Unterkiefer, alle eingesetzten Stümpfe sowie Okklusionsinformationen erfasst werden können.

3Shape Fort- und Weiterbildungsangebot

Für Fort- und Weiterbildungen und stetige Erweiterung des Kenntnisstandes bietet 3Shape den „Online learning hub“. Auf dieser Plattform sind zahlreiche Case Studies und Blog Posts zu finden. Außerdem bietet 3Shape neben on demand Webinaren, virtuellen Klassen in Kleingruppen bis zu 6 Personen und Einzelschulungen auch kostenlose Schulungsvideos auf seinem eigenen YouTube Kanal an. Zudem gibt es die Möglichkeit Präsenzkurse mit maximal 10 Teilnehmern in den 3Shape eigenen Räumen zu besuchen. 

UNSER FAZIT

Vorteile von 3Shape:

3Shape besticht mit einer intuitiven und einfachen Benutzeroberfläche und einem, je nach Modell, sehr genauen und detailgetreuem Scan. Im Vergleich zu anderen Systemen ist das 3Shape System sehr intuitiv zu bedienen und damit besonders nutzerfreundlich.

Nachteile von 3Shape:

3Shape ist im Vergleich zu anderen Systemen sehr starr und lässt nur wenig Raum für Kreativität und „out of the box“-Ansätze. Zudem ist der 3Shape Support nur sehr schwer zu erreichen, sodass viele Nutzer Lösungen mithilfe ihrer Fertigungsdienstleister suchen.

Bei Scannern und Software gibt es kein richtig und falsch. Gerade in diesem Bereich ist es besonders wichtig auf die eigenen Vorlieben und Anforderungen im Labor zu achten. Das 3Shape System ist unseres Erachtens nach gut für CAD / CAM Einsteiger geeignet. Techniker, die lieber flexibel bleiben, sich gerne ausprobieren oder sich selbst eigene Lösungen erarbeiten, fahren wohl aber besser mit einem System, das in sich nicht so geschlossen ist.